Special Programs

The Spring of Hearts Program for Holy Quran Memorization

The Spring of Hearts is a Holy Quran Memorization Program adopted by SZPA under the patronageof H.H Sheikha Shamsa bint Hamdan bin Muhammad Al Nayhan, wife of H.H Sheikh Shakhbut bin Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan.

This free program conducted 4 days a week from 7:00- 7:40 am for Grades1-9 students.

The program focuses on helping students memorize the Holy Quran passionately along with elocution (tajweed) to reinforce their reading skills and letter vocalization and pronunciation.

Students are placed in different sections based on the student’s level of memorizing. The program is taught by specialized teachers who are licenced by GAIAE (General Authority of Islamic Affairs and Endowments) in an appropriate educational environment. Students are evaluated twice a year and receive certificates to indicate their level in memorizing. At the end of the year, a ceremony is held in celebration of their success and achievement as they receive rewards.

Selected teachers from SZPA supervise the students to maintain their safety and attendance. As the program finds overwhelming response from parents for its academic approach and distinction.

Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is the world’s leading youth achievement Award and equips young people for life in over 140 countries and territories across the globe. 

The Award is available to all young people aged 14‐24. Doing the Award is a personal challenge and not a competition against others; it pushes young people to their personal limits and recognises their achievements consistently. The Award encourages young people to design their own programme of activities, set their own goals and challenge themselves to achieve their aims.

Since its launch 60 years ago, the Award has inspired millions of young people to transform their lives. Through non formal education, the Award can play a critical role in a young person’s personal development. You can find out more here www.intaward.org


What is involved?

The Award is comprised of three levels and four sections. Participants complete all four sections at each level in order to achieve their Award. At Gold level, participants also complete a Residential Project. 

The three levels to the Award:

Bronze: for those over 14 years. 6 months minimum participation.

Silver: for those over 15 years. 12 months minimum participation

Gold: for those over 16 years. 18 months minimum participation

The four sections of the Award:


Participants volunteer in their communities, make a positive contribution to society and demonstrate social responsibility.

Physical Recreation

Encourages young people to improve their fitness and performance and enjoy healthy lifestyles for good mental and physical wellbeing.


Enables participants to develop their talents, broaden their abilities, increase their self‐confidence and improve their employability.

Adventurous Journey

Young people discover a spirit of adventure and gain a deeper understanding of the environment and the great outdoors.

And at Gold only:

Residential Project

Participants broaden their experience by staying in an unfamiliar environment with other young people, taking part in a worthwhile project and building new relationships.